Playing now: Jamiroquai - Virtual Insanity

Playing next: -  

Winners Of Scarborough Borough Council's Sports Award

Winners Of Scarborough Borough Council's Sports Award

Published by Karen Liu at 11:15am 31st March 2020.

The winners of this year's Sports Awards by Scarborough Borough Council has been revealed. 

It was due to be held at Scarborough Spa yesterday (Monday 30th March), but due to the Coronavirus outbreak, the event did not take place.

Instead the announcement was made by Matt Hewison, Sports Development Manager, during a live video:

He said:

"As ever the Executive Committee were blown away with the volume, standard and range of nominations we received this year, which makes the decision making process an unenviable task really.

Obviously we have not been able to deliver the event at the Spa, but we wanted to make the announcement on the same evening to recognise all the winners and ensure they enjoyed a full year as the category winner.

Hopefully we will see the safe return of local sport soon to enable us to have the same standard of nominations at next year’s event.

Everyone on the Committee would like to congratulate all the nominees and winners for their fantastic achievements and for putting the Borough on the sporting map"

Here is the list of the winners:

Award Category Winner Runner Up
Primary Sports Girl - Under 11 Mia Longman Eleanor Walsh
Primary Sports Boy - Under 11 Thomas Whitehead Ryan Souter
Junior Sports Girl - Under 14 Beth Hiley Brooke Mason
Junior Sports Boy - Under 14 Henry Cornforth Ozzy Stringer
Junior Sports Girl - Under 16 Katie Lancaster Caitlyn Elworthy
Junior Sports Boy - Under 16 Tom Parkin Serhii Popov
Junior Sports Girl - Under 18 Amy Corcoran Phoenix Sykes
Junior Sports Boy - Under 18 Finnian Hutchinson Elliott Hatton
Top Primary Team - Under 11 Scarborough Gymnastics Academy - Primary Squad Wheatcroft School - High Five Netball Team
Tom Playing Team - Under 18 Desapline Martial Arts Academy Scarborough Gymnastics Academy - Junior and Youth Team Gym Squads
Top Female Achiever Rhona Marshall -
Top Male Achiever Jack Bird Barrie Fewster
The Lesley Gillatt School Sport Teacher of the Year Mark Vasey Robbie Hawkes
Inclusive Sport Award Woodlands Academy Netball Team Despaline Martial Arts
Top Playing Team - Senior Whitby Golf Club Ladies Section Scarborough Hockey Club Ladies 1st Team
Top Community Sports Club Scarborough Disabled Swimming Club East Coast Tigers Cheerleading
Coach of the Year Bob Cross, Graham Middleditch and Patrick Corbett Jess Mortimer
Sports Volunteer of the Year Charlotte Sixsmith Jacqueline Livera
Service to Sport Allan Burnett -
The Mavis Clayton Memorial Trophy Jack Bird -


A Civic Reception in the Town Hall is set to be held for all the winners to come and collect their trophies, when it is safe to do so, from the Borough Mayor, Hazel Lynskey.


There is 1 comment on this page.

Whitbyman, on 31st March 2020 11:44am
A very well done to all the winners

Submit a Comment

Submit A Comment