Playing now: Sugababes - About You Now

Playing next: -  

Devolution Calls in East Riding

Devolution Calls in East Riding

Published by the Yorkshire Coast Radio News Team at 8:02am 11th October 2015.

East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s leader has issued a rallying call to local authorities and others across the county to unite and support a ‘Greater Yorkshire’ devolution proposition, with the aim of submitting a case to Government Ministers later this month.


On 4 September, 38 separate devolution proposals were submitted to the Government, including four covering the Yorkshire and Humber region:

  • Sheffield City Region
  • Leeds City Region
  • York, North Yorkshire and the East Riding
  • Greater Lincolnshire

Furthermore, two statements of intent were also submitted for:

  • Greater Yorkshire (West, North and East Yorkshire)
  • Hull and Leeds City Region


Councillor Stephen Parnaby OBE, leader of East Riding of Yorkshire Council, said: “What we have at the moment is a bit of a ‘mish mash’ of proposals.


“Supported by a number of council leaders, MPs and MEPs, the statement of intent regarding the potential for a devolution settlement covering a ‘Greater Yorkshire’ demonstrated clearly to me that we all want much the same thing. 


“The original submissions were very similar in the range of devolved powers and responsibilities they were seeking to deliver growth and deal with the big issues that are still causing Yorkshire to lag behind other parts of the country. There were some important differences, but we believe these are not insurmountable.


“With the support of some council leaders, MPs and MEPs, East Riding of Yorkshire Council has developed the statement of intent into a full proposition and is now encouraging all its local authority neighbours, MPs in those areas, MEPs covering Yorkshire, the three local enterprise partnerships concerned and other partners/business to comment and support the overall thrust of the arguments for a Greater Yorkshire Combined Authority.”

Stephen also says it would help the regeneration of Bridlington, as it would be easier to get funds for things like the marina and roads.


The ‘Greater Yorkshire’ proposal includes five West Yorkshire Authority areas, Leeds, Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees and Wakefield, the county of North Yorkshire and its seven districts: Craven, Harroagate, Selby, Richmond, Hambleton, Ryedale and Scarborough the cities of York and Kingston-Upon-Hull and the East Riding of Yorkshire.


East Riding of Yorkshire Council has written to all those concerned asking for their feedback and support, with the aim of submitting the Greater Yorkshire proposal to Government by Monday, 19 October.




No comments have been posted and approved yet.

Submit a Comment

Submit A Comment